Knotty Witch

Cooking, Crafting, Dreaming…it's what I do

Moving on… February 3, 2010

Filed under: baking,cooking,Gardening,In the Kitchen,Random Ramblings — knottywitch @ 6:26 pm

I’ve got an apple cake in the oven. DD and I are making pot stickers this afternoon, and when we’re done if there’s any ground beef left to work with, I’m going to put together a garbage bread. Either way, I am baking bread today too.  Other than all that – we’re having a left over night for dinner. There’s left over tortelini soup, and baked ziti.

I am going back to the Dr’s office tomorrow. I am, really.

I’ve also joined a website that helps you track your calorie intake, exercise, and nutrition. I just joined yesterday. Typed in everything I ate and drank and received an A for my nutritional value for the day. Here’s the funny part – I didn’t change the way I eat. At all. I even had a dish of baked ziti for dinner. Go figure.

Like the title says though, moving on.

Moving on to looking forward to getting the garden started again. We’ve ordered a cherry tree and a nectarine tree so far. I really wanted to plant apple trees, though we’d only have the space for dwarf trees, and quite honestly – since we live in upstate NY – there’s not much of a point to it. Apples are usually are reasonably priced. At full maturity, dwarf trees only give a half bushel – so we’d end up having to buy more any way. The nectarine tree is going out front and the cherry tree will be planted in the built in box in a corner of the back yard. We’re also going to plant grapes and blueberries this year. Of course, it’s going to be years before we benefit much from all of this – but we’re not planning on going any where for a long while any way 😉

Well, I’m off to the kitchen again. If I sit too long, I’ll be stuck. Which would sound funny – but after this past spell, it’s lost some of the humour I usually view it through.

 

3 Responses to “Moving on…”

  1. youngwifey Says:

    Did you make your tortellini from scratch? How did the pot stickers turn out?
    Cherry trees are my favorite…

  2. knottywitch Says:

    No, I didn’t make the tortellini from scratch. After making all those pot stickers – I just might next time. Same concept, different fold. Why not?
    The pot stickers were a tremendous hit – I even added cheese to half of them. I’m thinking it would be a great way to wrap up left overs into appetizers or finger foods.


Leave a Reply

