Knotty Witch

Cooking, Crafting, Dreaming…it's what I do

Preparing for Easter February 15, 2010

Filed under: Random Ramblings — knottywitch @ 2:45 pm

and DD’s 18th Birthday, now that Valentine’s Day is over. We had our dinner as planned, it just wasn’t what we had planned. We had lasagna instead, with fresh-baked bread and a salad. We ended up with way more people here than originally planned – and there is no way I was up to making 4 of those timbales with the pastry. The sauce is already made, it’s what I used in the lasagna and there is plenty left over to try the dish during the week. On the down low, I think. I’d like to try it the first time without quite as much pressure…

I think the “hit” of the party was the punch we made. We even bought plastic flutes from the party store so even the “kids” could drink from them.  We only had a box of eight – for $9 – that was as far as I was willing to go. They are pretty though, and washed up and placed back into the box awaiting the next occasion. I plan to get my $9 worth from them, haha!  My daughter’s beau had bought red ones for them as part of her gift, plus Dh and I decided we could use our toasting glasses from our wedding – so there was enough to go around after all. They were the perfect serving size for the punch.

The punch was simple – 12 oz frozen pink lemonade concentrate (thawed)

                                                 12 oz frozen orange juice concentrate (thawed)

                                                 16 oz frozen sliced sweetened strawberries (thawed)

                                                    6 c. water

                                             combine and chill those first ingredients. When ready to serve, add a 2 liter bottle of chilled lemon  flavoured soda and serve.

We don’t have a punch bowl, so we used our normal ice tea jugs and that worked for us. I imagine it’d be pretty in a punch bowl with a ring of strawberries frozen into the ice.

As for pictures, once there are 12-15 people crammed into this little house, it’s so cramped – I don’t enjoy looking at it through the camera at all. Eating off the coffee table and end tables doesn’t do a lot for anything visually. Dh has been warned, we are rearranging the living room today (perhaps, why he’s still in bed this morning? haha), and bringing in our small kitchen table. There is no room for it in the kitchen. It won’t seat many people, but it will help to have a place to set the food and such when we have a lot of company – which despite the humbleness of our home, is often. Pride should never get in the way of extending heartfelt hospitality. But, that doesn’t mean I have to photograph the mess, lol!

I can’t wait for warmer weather when we can entertain and visit out on the patio. We really do use our space outside like extended living space when the weather allows. Right this minute, it’s snowing – so it’s going to be a bit of time before we get to do all that again. Soon though.

In the mean time, I’ve been looking for menu ideas for DD’s 18th birthday in March, and for Easter. I’d like to be better prepared. I’m also looking for projects to complete and put in the baskets for the “kids”. I keep putting kids in quotes because the “baby” of the family is my youngest, and he’s going to be 16 this summer…

Since we’re not really big on candy for the baskets – though we do add  some – I want to be ready with other things kids their age would actually like/use.

Hacky sacks

I-pod cases

scarves

book covers (we are a family who reads!)

book marks

water bottle covers

hair accessories

I’d also like to crochet baskets for them. My nephew in the Marines will be getting a basket he can share as well. We’re just not sure where he’s going to be stationed yet. He might be going to Haiti. Where he is stationed will depend on what I send to him.

 

One Response to “Preparing for Easter”

  1. youngwifey Says:

    Sounds like you had a great time! Happy Valentine’s Day!


Leave a Reply

