Knotty Witch

Cooking, Crafting, Dreaming…it's what I do

I almost lost me! December 20, 2010

Filed under: Random Ramblings — knottywitch @ 12:20 pm

This whole “Knotty Witch” thing started with me trying to find the “me” in the grand scheme of that which is my life. I have my own e-mail for it, where I correspond with various crafting e-groups and receive newsletters about topics pertaining to my own personal interests…I forgot the e-mail addy, the pass word, and finally got signed in this morning when Hubby left for work at 3am. (He’s been working out-of-town for the past several months, and is only home on weekends now-and not all of them at that!) While deleting the thousands of e-mails I’ve missed, I came across a notification of a comment to my blog here – while I knew I had a blog, looked for the blog – I could not remember where it is.

How sad is that, any way?

Oh well, I’m back now – and this time I plan to stay back. I have to. Needless to say, we’ve had a serious season of change. One in which I’ve been playing all of my roles in overtime, losing the “just me” part of it all.

Long story short – Had a medical scare with my youngest son. He’s fine though. I did end up leaving my job behind it though. The assistant. Department Manager and I had a disagreement whether I was “entitled” to request days off for his testing and such being I was “just” a part-time worker. Now, in requesting days off – it was more a matter of “Of the 2-3 days off during the work week I will have I’ll need Tues. to be one of them for an appt. in 2 weeks…”

With how all else has turned around, it’s for the best any way.

My sister ended her 15 year-long relationship with her boyfriend. The only great loss there is the 15 years she put in with the sorry SOB, IMHO – of course.  That and she has also lost her home in foreclosure.

What has that got to do with us? Well, she’s here of course, with my youngest nephew.

Needless to say, she has been feeling a bit lost and out of sorts…And it’s taking some time for her to come back into her own as well. I’ve stressed myself about trying to be supportive, without being enabling, firm without being manipulative about her doing something (anything, really!) with her life for herself…

She’s starting to come out of it now though, bit by bit. Now, it’s my turn! I have neglected my own sense of self in tending to everyone else – which is sort of ok, because that is actually the core of my own personal self. My Mother says I am the Matriarch of our family – she says it like it’s because I’m some beacon of stregnth – I am not so sure.

Still, I’ve been missing my time crafting, and posting here. Being inspired by others by their creativity – the expressing the joy of all that we do. Even though, I’ve still been cooking (Sister has gained 20lbs since she’s been here, she needed it.) Still tended the garden, put up what I could, made several pots of sauce – though with nothing to left over to can. With as many people here now, we actually go through a huge stock pot of sauce in a few meals. Plus, I freeze meals for hubby to take on the road with him. That way he can at least have easy lunches while working, and it stretches his per diem pay a bit further.

Oh well. It seems strange to be back. But it’s stranger still to think of starting another blog…I’ll just stick with this one and just go with it.

 

One Response to “I almost lost me!”

  1. Young Wifey Says:

    Welcome back!! Good luck this time, I hope you’ll stick with it!


Leave a Reply

