Knotty Witch

Cooking, Crafting, Dreaming…it's what I do

Starting the New Year Strong! December 31, 2010

Filed under: Home making,Random Ramblings — knottywitch @ 3:28 pm

I’ve already made progress on 2 of my 4 resolutions for the year. I have been baking a lot, so not much has been done in the crafting area. I did get my table moved into the kitchen, and the bar moved into the living-room. I love it! The first night, Sammy (my friend and neighbor) stopped by with her sister, and we sat around the table until after midnight just laughing and joking while the kids hung out in the living-room. The next day, my oldest and dearest friend, who lives in Iowa, stopped by for a visit with her kids. We invited Sammy over again, and we all sat around the table until long after midnight laughing, joking, and reminiscing. Loving it! Plus the bar gives DD more usable space in the living room to organize her art supplies and girlie stuffs

I went to the Dr.’s on Thursday. It was funny, my Mom had called while I was on my way out, I explained my resolution to her. She was so happy. I went on and on about how I promised to do what ever it is they say, try what ever it is they suggested and so on…Then I got there to find they already diagnosed me, they just failed to mention it. The took X-rays last year (or earlier this year, I forget) and found I have an over-straightening in my neck. What they left out is – it’s caused by arthritis. In fact, I have arthritis in my neck and both shoulders. When it feels like the muscles are shredded – they are (eeewww), and this Dr. went on to explain that what happens then is the blood capillaries burst causing hemorrhaging in the spaces created by the shredding, causing scarring to build up. Which can not be repaired. Damn and eeewwww! He also questioned me on my hobbies, to make sure I’m not doing anything to further damage the area…like gardening. Here’s where part of the promise I made to Mom went out the window –

 Me “Um, we don’t even have a lawn.”

Him “Oh good, I won’t have to worry about that then.”

Me “I’m sorry, you misunderstand, we don’t have a lawn because it’s all a garden…”

Then I went on to explain that my husband does help a lot with it. I generally sit while weeding, and since I don’t work outside the home, it’s really done in “little bits” every day. Not me going out there for 3-4 hours at a clip bending and raking every week. I also went on to explain that with hubby on the road so much, we’re planning on starting to put in some raised beds to keep it simpler for us both. Our herbs are in pots, and we hope to add more creative container gardening to our lay out as well. He said that’s all good, plus to use the rolling gardening bench  so I can sit better while weeding. Fair enough.

He also mentioned that there is some nerve damage (sensory loss) that he’d like to keep an eye on. Also, that my arches are sagging – to which I informed him that at this stage of the game – pretty much everything is sagging…Such is life. Oh well. I am still going to be following through with it. 

Now, I’m going to be looking for ways to design our garden space that will be both more productive, and less labor intensive. Guess our procrastination method of “It’s time, lets throw it all in the ground and see what happens.” is out the window, LOL!

 

2 Responses to “Starting the New Year Strong!”

  1. Young Wifey Says:

    Hubster has such trouble with his back too… Glad you’ll be getting raised beds though!

    • knottywitch Says:

      Yeah, I’m excited about that too. There are lots of perks to the raised beds – we should even be able to stretch our season a bit once they’re established too. I am not giving up my gardening though!


Leave a Reply

