Knotty Witch

Cooking, Crafting, Dreaming…it's what I do

Trying to learn to knit February 3, 2011

Filed under: Random Ramblings — knottywitch @ 1:02 am
Tags:

I’ve been crocheting since I was pregnant with my daughter – who will be 19 yo next month. I was on bed rest with my 3 yo son. Crochet gave me a way to keep my sanity, as well as make little things to enchant and entertain my son at the same time.  Crochet will always be my first love. But it’s been almost 20 years now, and I’m ready for a little something different. Something a little dangerous – if you could see me wield my needles, you’d understand.

This is my first swatch. Tonight, I’m attempting to add the pearl stitch to my repertoire and see what I come up with.

 

5 Responses to “Trying to learn to knit”

  1. Young Wifey Says:

    I’ve been crocheting for 11 years, I only tried to knit one time… I actually get upset when people continually say that I knit (even after I explain the differences)… because I don’t… Good luck with your endeavor!

    • knottywitch Says:

      I get upset about that too. It’s really not the same thing. I’m inclined to say knitting is harder, but I can recall a time some crochet seemed pretty complicated too. Here’s hoping.

  2. rhymit61 Says:

    I find knitting to be very challenging. But I like it. It can be very frustrating especially when you drop a stitch. It also takes longer because I don’t knit very fast. It takes longer to make things. I want to learn to knit in the round on circular needles. I haven’t gotten the hang of it yet.

  3. rosieroyalty Says:

    Congrats on trying something new and challenging! I am so slow when I crochet and I cannot knit.

    • knottywitch Says:

      Crochet is forever my first love – I got so frustrated trying to knit (not giving up though!) I dragged my sewing machine out for a while, lol. It may frustrate me, but at least I can *finish* something with it 😉


Leave a Reply

