Knotty Witch

Cooking, Crafting, Dreaming…it's what I do

Back to work – and it feels good. February 22, 2011

Filed under: Decorating,Home making,sewing — knottywitch @ 8:22 pm
Tags: , , ,

No, I’m not working outside the home again. I’m not sure what lies ahead for me in that regard. I’ve been a bit of a miserable home maker as of late though, and it finally sunk in why – because I wasn’t doing it. Yes, I’ve been doing my chores, no one has missed a meal, or a snack for that matter. I still bake, and mate socks (although, usually a pair at a time…) and all else that’s implied with being a home maker. But, it’s about making the home too – not just maintaining it.

So, yesterday I woke up took an ibuprofen and went to work on ironing the fabric I purchased weeks ago to make some kitchen accessories. For my $6.00 splurge – I expect to get curtains, cushions for the benches to the kitchen table, a couple of pot holders and maybe a table runner.

A seamstress I am not – but I do enjoy the idea of sewing immensely. That’s what keeps me trying. Of course, if I tried more often – I might be better at it. None the less, I now have new Kitchen Curtains hanging. I even made the tie backs with a little ruffle. I was a little concerned about trying that with this fabric, it’s upholstery fabric I purchased at Ocean State Job Lots…which is a bargain variety store of sorts. Three yards for $6 was too much to pass up, and I decided to get as much out of it as possible.

Next, I will start working on cushions for the benches. The comforter I’m repurposing for the padding is now in the washing machine, and then I will be off and running with that. In the mean time, I have a few scrap pieces from the curtains, and am working on cutting squares for some pot holders to put together with some scrap denim squares I’ve got lying around. Now that I’m moving along with it – I’m excited to see just how much I can get out of my little splurge.

 

5 Responses to “Back to work – and it feels good.”

  1. Young Wifey Says:

    Looks great! I love the tie backs! Don’t wait so long until you next post…

  2. knottywitch Says:

    Thank You! I try. Sometimes, I write a post and just hit “trash” instead of “publish” LOL. It’s an adjustment period for me I think.

  3. rhymit61 Says:

    Your curtains look nice. I think I understand what you mean about making a home. It is challenging work to create a real home. Doing chores and cooking are great. They are ways to express care and provide comfort to your family. But changing your home decor with items you have made adds a different kind off self expression to your environment.

  4. rosieroyalty Says:

    Luv the curtains. Looks like you did a great job sewing. The ties look nice and I like the fabric you chose.


Leave a Reply

